Get all of the latest Health news from The Scotsman. Providing fresh perspective online for news across the UK Is CBD halal? We have done the research so you can purchase CBD oils, capsules or e-liquids and be confident there are no haram ingredients. If it is proven that cannabidiol (CBD) is not harmful and does not contain Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), or it contains a small amount that is completely absorbed and no trace of it can be detected, then it is halal to use.
Is CBD Halal or Haram? A guide for 2022
While dietary preferences based on allergies or ethics can make choosing a particular food supplement difficult, it is religious dietary lifestyles that often prove the most complicated.
Not only do followers of faiths not always agree, on which foods and beverages are acceptable to consume, but there’s also a wide range of practices and restrictions across different religious groups and sects.
For example, while alcohol is banned in Islam and off-limits for Buddhist adherents, it’s freely consumed by the roughly one billion people of the Hindu faith, writes Halal CBD.
Here it asks whether CBD is Halal or Haram
The intersection between religious dietary laws and the exploding market for cannabidiol (CBD) is no exception, with some Muslims voicing concerns that CBD may not be halal or permissible to consume under their faiths’ guidelines.
What is Halal?
Halal is a term that means “permissible” in Arabic, and it’s the term used to indicate if something is religiously permissible. The opposite of halal would be haram, or “forbidden”.
For adherents of Islam (the world’s second-largest religion after Christianity), halal dietary guidelines are intended to make sure all food and beverages consumed are in accordance with the Qur’an and Islamic law.
The Qur’an is the holy book of Islam, and it includes passages about halal foods that God (Allah) has made lawful for believers to consume. These guidelines dictate that animals must be slaughtered via a specific cut made to jugular veins, which drains all their blood while leaving the spinal cord intact.
But halal isn’t just about how the meat is slaughtered. Muslims also need to ensure the food they consume won’t cause them any physical harm – such as cancer or if their bodies can’t properly digest them.
As for beverages, many scholars believe that passages within Islam’s holy book clearly prohibit alcohol consumption, citing that it causes haram behaviours that would shame a believer’s faith.
CBD and Halal: Is CBD Oil Halal?
Considering that CBD is derived from hemp or cannabis plants, both of which contain varying quantities of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), there are concerns about its status as halal. While it’s important to note that the psychoactive compound in cannabis is not present in CBD products, some Muslims still perceive CBD as a haram product in Islamic faith due to its association with THC’s psychoactive properties.
So the argument becomes: If CBD products contain no THC, as is the case with CBD isolate and broad-spectrum CBD formulas, is it halal?
Some Muslim scholars believe that if a CBD product is derived from hemp and contains no THC or other psychoactive agents, it should be considered halal so that it can be used for its health benefits. But others aren’t so sure, believing CBD’s status as haram depends on the plant it came from (hemp vs cannabis) and how it was sourced.
Furthermore, since non-halal items such as food additives like gelatine or alcohol are often used in CBD processing, some Muslims claim they cannot consider it halal because certain ingredients might render it haram.
And with the advancements in the health food industry, much of the food and drink we consume can now be made with halal-friendly products like vegetable-based capsules, GMO-free rice paper and water-based glaze for CBD sweets.
Recommended Halal CBD Oils to Buy
If you are Muslim or follow a halal diet, finding CBD products can be tricky. Fortunately, we’ve done the research to uncover two of the best CBD brands in the UK that offer CBD products that can be considered halal by Muslims who are okay with using non-psychoactive CBD hemp plant extracts.
Using an advanced supercritical CO2 distillation process that produces a potent CBD hemp extract, Blessed CBD products are free from THC, heavy metals, pesticides and herbicides.
Furthermore, Blessed CBD uses vegan hemp seed oil for maximum bioactivity and offers lab reports on every batch produced by 3rd party testing laboratories.
Offering broad-spectrum CBD oil tinctures in concentrations of 500mg, 1000mg, and 1800mg per 10ml bottle, Blessed CBD oil is the perfect way to adhere to the tenets of Islam without fear of accidentally using a product that may contain ingredients that are halal-restricted.
Additionally, their CBD capsules and gummies are isolate-based, which means there is no THC and is considered halal. The CBD balm is not only the perfect way to soothe sore muscles and chronic pain, but it is also vegan, cruelty-free and made with organic hemp seed oil and shea butter.
Vibes CBD is well known throughout the UK for its premium quality CBD products, specialising exclusively in broad-spectrum and CBD isolate formulas.
Made with pure CBD isolate and blended with other terpenes and phytocannabinoids (non-psychoactive), Vibes CBD also uses CO2 supercritical extraction methods to ensure that all of their hemp-derived ingredients are free from THC and other impurities.
Their oils, tinctures, capsules, topicals, and gummies are all vegan-friendly and cruelty-free.
Vibes CBD’s customer service department is always available to answer questions about their products. In addition, you can find batch numbers referenced on all product labels to ensure the ingredients and formulas meet halal standards.
If you’re looking to experience the benefits of CBD with THC-free products, try Vibes CBD.
What CBD Products Are Not Halal?
While there may be controversy surrounding whether or not all CBD products are halal, there is a clear consensus regarding specific CBD products that are not considered halal under Islamic guidelines.
One example is any CBD product that is considered to be a full-spectrum CBD oil. Full-spectrum CBD products contain full-plant parts and an unfiltered amount of cannabinoids, including THC, in their formula.
Even though UK law mandates that the amount of THC be less than 1mg per CBD product container, an amount that will not likely cause any sort of psychoactive reaction, it’s still not halal because THC is present.
Additionally, any CBD capsules made using bovine gelatine or other non-halal food-grade capsules will not be considered halal as well. While the gelatine in these capsules may not contain any alcohol, it is still non-halal because it comes from a haram animal source.
Some CBD edibles, such as gummies, may also be considered haram if they are made with food dyes sourced from animal by-products or contain traces of alcohol from the manufacturing process.
Basically, if a CBD product contains any trace of THC, animal by-product, or involves a manufacturing process using alcohol, it can be considered haram and not halal.
How Can I Know if a CBD Product is Halal?
If you subscribe to the notion that CBD products that don’t contain any trace of THC, are sourced from hemp plants, and don’t use any alcohol in their extraction or refinement processes are halal, that opens up many options.
When shopping around for CBD products that could be considered halal, look for ones that meet the following criteria.
Broad-spectrum CBD formulas such as tinctures, creams, capsules, and edibles contain all beneficial cannabinoids and terpenes found in the plant. However, what classifies them as a halal product is the fact that broad-spectrum formulas undergo additional refinement to remove any trace of THC and other psychoactive cannabinoids such as CBN and Delta-8/9 THC. These cannabinoids are known for their psychoactive properties, which, in addition to being a controlled substance in the UK, is why they are filtered out of the hemp extract.
Broad-spectrum CBD oils typically use an MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oil to enhance bioavailability and offer a full-plant CBD experience without any psychoactive effects. These oils are generally considered halal.
*CBD Isolate Oil
Not everyone that takes CBD products is looking for a host of cannabinoids or other added ingredients. Instead, many CBD consumers in the UK simply want a product that contains nothing but pure CBD and MCT oil for maximum absorption.
Free from THC, psychoactive cannabinoids, terpenes, and other plant materials, CBD isolates are considered the purest, and if made using a halal carrier oil such as hemp seed oil or fractionated coconut oil, they can be 100% halal.
CBD isolates are often the base for a variety of CBD products, including topical skincare creams, CBD capsules, and CBD gummies. Therefore, finding lab reports that verify the purity of a CBD isolate formula is extremely important.
Pro Tip: Some manufacturers will sell a CBD isolate product that contains no THC but may still be formulated with non-halal ingredients such as gelatine, dye, and alcohol. Make sure to always check the ingredients and avoid purchases without detailed lab reports verifying the purity of the CBD isolate and the presence of halal-friendly ingredients.
*Vegan & Cruelty-Free
Looking for certified vegan and cruelty-free CBD products will help ensure that the products are not sourced from any animal by-product that wasn’t killed and prepared under halal guidelines described in the Qur’an.
Vegan and cruelty-free products will also have a much better safety profile as they avoid using some of the chemicals found in non-vegan or animal-tested products, such as artificial dyes, parabens, and alcohol.
Pro Tip: If you combine your online search for a quality CBD product by using the keywords “vegan” and “cruelty-free”, you’ll limit your search to products that are safe for vegans, people with halal dietary standards, and Muslims looking for cruelty-free CBD options.
Remember that before purchasing any CBD product, it is highly recommended to do your own research. That means contacting the CBD company you want to purchase from to verify the information on their website fall in line with the tenets of Islam.
Halal-Friendly CBD Products in the UK
Whether or not you think CBD is halal, it is essential to know which CBD brands can be safely consumed by Muslims and those following a halal diet. Many great companies are offering high-quality CBD products that fall in line with the tenets of Islam.
Remember that not all CBD products are made the same, and your own research will be required to ensure your health and wellness needs are met with a high-quality, halal-friendly CBD oil product.
Is CBD Halal or Haram?
Halal is Arabic for permissible and haram means prohibited or sin. Halal foods are those that are allowed according to the traditional Islamic laws defined in the Qur’an. A practising Muslim must not consume anything that isn’t considered to be halal.
Since CBD has become such a popular food supplement, some people are unclear as to whether it’s halal or haram. According to the Qur’an, substances that “curtain the mind” are haram. This is understood to be substances that intoxicate and includes cannabis. Because CBD is extracted from hemp varieties of cannabis, is it forbidden too?
Is CBD Halal or Haram – Fast facts
- CBD is halal as it is a non-intoxicating substance.
- CBD products containing THC, alcohol, nicotine, and flavourings or gelatine from non-halal animal products are haram.
- Vaping CBD is considered halal as long as the e-liquid contains no nicotine, THC or other ingredients that are considered haram.
- Currently the only halal certified CBD products we have found in the UK are Cibdol CBD capsules.
- As a practicing Muslim, choose products that are THC free, certified vegan and are not labelled as “tinctures”.
Is CBD halal?
CBD oils and vape liquids are halal if it they are non-intoxicating and free from THC. However, this can depend on the type of CBD product you use and if it contains any additional ingredients that may be haram. Common ingredients such as gelatine, food colouring and flavourings are sometimes haram.
Some CBD products contain haram ingredients
Gelatine – Some CBD capsules use gelatine and are haram. However, if it is bovine gelatine and the cow was slaughtered to halal standards, it would be permissible.
Flavourings – Flavourings and colouring can also be haram if they don’t come from a halal source. For example, some can contain alcohol by-products or non-halal animal products.
Vape Juices – On the face of it, CBD e-liquids meet the standards of halal, but there is fierce debate around whether the act of vaping should be forbidden. In 2015 the Malaysian National Fatwa Council declared vaping of electronic cigarettes as haram, but this may not apply to vaping CBD.
Some argue that if in the future science can prove that it is entirely safe and vape juices contain all-natural ingredients, then it should be permissible. But others see vaping, even if safe, as an imitation of a sinful act and as such, haram.
Alcohol – Anything advertised as a “tincture” should be avoided; they are made by dissolving hemp extract in alcohol. While the amount of alcohol is negligible, tinctures are easily avoided as most CBD oils use an extraction method that uses supercritical CO2 which contains no alcohol or its derivatives.
Alcohol in small amounts can be ok if the purpose of the product is to heal, but only if there are no other options.
Why is CBD halal if cannabis is haram?
According to Islam Q&A, the intoxicating cannabinoid THC is considered as haram, but this doesn’t apply to the whole cannabis plant. Other substances found in cannabis such as CBD are unlikely to be haram as they’re considered safe to consume and don’t cause intoxication. However, it is forbidden to consume them alongside THC in an intoxicating cannabis product.
Even CBD products that still contain tiny traces of THC are ok if it is absorbed by your body and can’t be detected. The UK legal limit for THC in CBD products is 1mg per container so, if an item meets this standard its likely to be halal.
Guide to finding halal CBD
To ensure that any CBD you consume is halal, there are some simple steps that you can take:
1. Find a trustworthy retailer
The UK CBD industry is still largely unregulated, so, there are some unscrupulous retailers selling poor quality products. Look for a retailer that is transparent about their processes and what is in the bottle.
Find a company you can trust by looking at customer reviews and by reading the information provided on their websites.
2. Check third-party lab tests
The best retailers and CBD brands will display third-party lab results on their product pages. These are conducted by independent laboratories and verify the content of a sample from each batch of product.
Look for products with certificates that show that THC was not detected or that it is present in trace amounts. Even if a brand claims “zero THC” or “THC free” it’s still important to check that the certificates back up their claims. We have seen many sites that say zero THC but also contradictorily describe their product as full-spectrum (to be full-spectrum it must contain THC).
3. Look for certified vegan products
Products that have a vegan certification will contain no animal products which will prevent you from consuming items from animals that weren’t properly slaughtered. They will also be free from insect products such as cochineal red food colouring which is also haram.
Look for an official halal certification – Currently, halal-certified CBD is difficult to find, so you will need to rely on carrying out your own due diligence. However, as more people ask questions about whether it’s halal, the more likely that brands will include it in their processes and labelling. Most certification conducted in the UK is coordinated by the Halal Food Authority.
4. Check the ingredients
Once you’ve found a THC free, vegan product from a trustworthy retailer, it’s important to take a detailed look at the ingredients. Most CBD oils contain very few ingredients, but others may have unnecessary extras. Look out for additives, fillers and flavours that may not be halal.
If you would like assistance with selecting a halal CBD product feel free to give us a call on 020 8191 8621 or drop us an email here: [email protected]
Alternatively, we are happy to recommend a couple of products. As many are full-spectrum, these would not be suitable for a practising Muslim. We do stock a selection that are THC free and we have checked the ingredients closely to ensure there are no other haram components. Check out Love Hemp CBD oils, Love Hemp CBD capsules, the previously mentioned Cibdol capsules and Love CBD’s isolate e-liquid.
Whether you choose to consume CBD is entirely up to you but the growing consensus is that it’s likely to be halal. To be entirely sure, avoid tinctures, vape oils and products with colouring and flavouring.
It’s also important to use the third-party lab certificates to verify that it’s free from, or low in THC. If you have any doubts talk directly to the retailer before making your purchase.
Join us to get updates and special deals monthly:
Tom Russell writes extensively about CBD oil and other groundbreaking food supplements. He and his wife share their home with two daughters and a lifetime’s collection of books.
Many thanks for your question, Love CBD’s e-liquids (both Sativa and Indica strains) are THC free.
Hi Tom, sincere gratitude for the information.
Regarding on contacting you for more information, I was wondering is there a CBD vape juice you can recommend to me that is THC free and other haram ingredient free.
I do not know where to look as there is so many.
If you can give me a specific brand and how I can order them then I would be very grateful.
Is CBD Halal?
I have a few health conditions and after speaking with a friend, who has similar issues, he stated that his doctor had requested he start taking CBD oils. I have researched the CBD and found nothing but good from the search, however they’re now doing a CBD vape which is called ‘medipen’; even the NHS are looking into this pen to start stocking. This medipen is free from tobacco, free from nicotine and free from THC. Doesn’t it alter the mind state etc.? What is your take on this?
Summary of answer
If it is proven that cannabidiol (CBD) is not harmful and does not contain Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), or it contains a small amount that is completely absorbed and no trace of it can be detected, then it is halal to use.
- What is CBD?
- Is CBD halal?
- Is it permissible to use medicines that contain varying amounts of alcohol?
- Are e-cigarettes halal?
Praise be to Allah.
What is CBD?
Cannabidiol (CBD) is extracted from cannabis, and may contain a small amount of Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), which is a haram intoxicant.
In the answer to question no. 259044 , we noted that it is not permissible to add to medicine or food anything that causes intoxication.
If it is actually added, then the sin is on the one who adds it. Then we should look at the food or medicine: if the amount of intoxicant is so small that it is completely absorbed and no trace of it can be detected, and it will not cause intoxication in the one who eats or drinks a lot of that food or medicine, then there is nothing wrong with consuming it.
Is CBD halal?
Based on that, if it is proven that CBD is not harmful and does not contain THC, or it contains a small amount that is completely absorbed and no trace of it can be detected, then there is nothing wrong with taking it.
Al-Khatib ash-Sharbini (may Allah have mercy on him) said:
“The difference of scholarly opinion concerning using it – namely alcohol – as medicine has to do with pure alcohol (with which nothing else is mixed). As for medicine that may contain some alcohol, or medicine in which alcohol is completely absorbed, it is permissible to use it to treat sickness, when one cannot find any other effective medicine made of pure ingredients that could produce the same result. This is the same as the issue of using impure substances, such as snake flesh and urine, for medicinal purposes. That is permissible even if it is used only to expedite recovery, on condition that one seeks the advice of a Muslim doctor of good character, or a doctor who has experience in using that medicine to treat sickness.” (Mughni al-Muhtaj, 5/518)
It says in a statement of the Islamic Fiqh Council belonging to the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), no. 23 (11/3):
Is it permissible to use medicines that contain varying amounts of alcohol?
With regard to queries from the International Institute for Islamic Thought (IIIT), Washington:
There are many medicines that contain varying amounts of alcohol, ranging from 0.01 % to 25 %. Most of these medicines are for treating colds, sore throats, coughs and other common illnesses; these medicines constitute approximately 95% of medicines in this field, which makes it difficult or impossible to obtain medicine that is free of alcohol. What is the ruling on taking these medicines?
“The Muslim patient may take medicine containing a percentage of alcohol, if alcohol-free medicine is not available, and that medicine is prescribed by a trustworthy doctor.” (Majallat al-Majma‘, issue 3, vol. 3, p. 1087)
Based on that, if it is proven that CBD is not harmful and does not contain THC, or that it contains a small amount that is completely absorbed and no trace of it can be detected, then there is nothing wrong with consuming it.
Are e-cigarettes halal?
Electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) contain nicotine , and other toxic substances , according to what we were able to find out. Therefore it is prohibited to consume them.
You should beware of being deceived by the advertising of cigarette companies and their claims that e-cigarettes are free of nicotine.
If we assume that it is indeed free of nicotine and other harmful substances, then you still should not smoke it , because that is imitating sinners, and the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever imitates a people is one of them.” (Narrated by Abu Dawud (4031); classed as sahih by al-Albani in Sahih Sunan Abi Dawud)